Skip to content

Spring is in the air

March 19, 2011

Happy (Late) St. Patrick’s Day! It’s been a such a beautiful weekend thus far (knock on wood-you’ll see why shortly!)

I’ll admit, I have a little case of Spring Fever, it’s so nice outside I just can’t think about getting any work done. Something about the sunlight puts me in such a wonderful mood, basically turning me into quite the little social butterfly. Yet here I am, on a Saturday afternoon, blogging! Me! I promised myself I would see this thing through.

I cannot really call myself a “blogger” just yet though, only 2 posts in (well, 1.5, since I’m still typing this one).  I feel as though my blog is a little bland as-of-yet, it’s all white and gray and I tried unsuccessfully to upload a banner to the title box. I promise I’ll figure this all out eventually. For now, I’ll just keeping telling myself “Less is More!”, but really, I think that “Less is a Bore!”. Okay, enough of my lacking-of-blogging skills. Down to business!

The other day I came across this gorgeous bed, design by the brilliant Joseph Walsh of Joseph Walsh Studio.

Enignum Canopy Bed

The Enignum Canopy Bed is part of his Formations Collection. And what an amazing collection it is!

The whole idea behind the bed is for the user to feel sheltered in a natural environment. It is a collaboration between man and material, the material world and the natural world. It was created through an abstract process of slicing wood into thin layers, and bending it into organic, elastic forms.

Of course, the rest of the collection is equally stunning.

 

Enignum Table

Enignum Chair

Of the collection, the Irish designer stated, “Through this work, I am seeking to emulate nature’s forms with a timeless presence as though they have evolved like a formation or erosion. The resulting composition of form, material and colour creates a sense of wholeness in each complete work.”

He has several other amazing collections, all done with wood.

Prism Cabinet (Prism Collection)

Figure of 6 chair (Figures & Form Collection)

Alright, I think I’ve spent enough time drooling over these wooded creations, time to get on with the rest of the day’s humdrum tasks. Focus Dany! Focus!

Until next time, sweet patrons!

x0x0

dany

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

